Difference between DUI and DWI?
DUI stands for driving under the influence (either drugs or alcohol) and DWI stands for driving while intoxicated.
Washington State DUI Definitions
In Washington State, you may be charged with a DUI if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of*:
- 0.08%, if you’re 21 years old and over.
- 0.04%, if you’re driving a commercial vehicle.
- 0.02%, if you’re younger than 21 years old.
Driving Under the Influence
A blood alcohol content of .08% is grounds for a DUI charge against drivers 21 and over, as is any traceable amount for those under 21. If you’re among the millions of people who have been charged with a DUI or DWI, you could face thousands of dollars in fines, suspension of your license, and even jail time. Naturally, the consequences are even greater if there was an accident or injury.
Nevertheless, the law affords you many protections. It is imperative to engage an experienced criminal defense attorney to make sure that your arrest was conducted lawfully, in accordance with all state and federal laws. You do have rights, and your attorney will ensure that the authorities and the legal system have respected them. In some cases, your defense attorney may also be able to have your charges reduced, if not dropped completely.
If you have been charged with a DUI related to boating or the operation of some other vehicle, our DUI attorneys can still help. A DUI / DWI charge is a serious matter regardless of the vehicle, so contact Bridge Law today to learn more about how our experience and professionalism can help.
Protecting Your Rights is our Mission
Our attorneys boast many years of experience in personal injury cases and auto accidents. When you need professional assistance on your side who will secure the best possible compensation for your losses, contact us today.